Go to Kentucky.gov home page
Kentucky Board of Hairdressers and Cosmetologists

Licensing Information

Each type of license has an associated fee.  Hopefully, you will find the following information helpful and answers any questions you may have.  However, always feel free to contact the board office for additional information.

First License

Please refer to the Cosmetology pages for field-specific details on obtaining your first license.

Also, please see Out-of-State and Salon licenses for information about obtaining these types of licenses.

Renewal Information

ALL licenses must be renewed beginning July 1 through July 31 of each year. If the license renewal is not received in the board office or postmarked by July 31 the license is expired and the appropriate restoration fee must be paid. There are no exceptions to this requirement! 

Duplicate Licenses

Duplicate licenses can only be issued for those that have been lost or stolen. We cannot issue duplicates for persons working in more than one (1) salon without special permission. A licensee must submit, in writing, reason for duplication and must list each salon of employment.

Duplicate License Application

Restoration

An expired license can be restored provided the license has been expired for less than five (5) years by submitting the License Restoration Application with the required fee. 

To restore a cosmetologist or esthetic license that has been expired for a period exceeding five (5) years, the statutes require the individual to apply and successfully complete the respective practical examination.

To restore a Nail Technician license that has been expired for a period exceeding five (5) years, the statutes require the individual to apply and successfully complete the respective practical and written examination.

Restoration Examination Application

An apprentice cosmetologist whose license has been expired for more than five (5) years must complete a brushup course of 450 hours, retake the apprentice cosmetologist examination, written and practical, and complete a six (6) month apprenticeship to qualify to apply for the regular cosmetologist examination.

Certification

Any licensee can request a certification for their license. Certifications are typically used when applying for a license in another state.  You should submit a written request to the board office along with the fee of $20.00. 

The request should include your name, current mailing address, license number or social security number, and the address to which you wish the certification to be mailed.  Note:  Most state boards of cosmetology require the certifications to be mailed directly to that state.

Active Military Spouse

If you or your spouse is transferred or actively based in the State of Kentucky and you hold a current and active license is another state you may transfer your license, provided you meet Kentucky statutory requirements, by submitting the Active Military Licensee/Spouse License Transfer Application with required documentation and fee.

12.357 Issuance of temporary or regular license or certificate to spouse of active duty member of Armed Forces.

(1) Notwithstanding any other statute to the contrary, an administrative body shall issue a temporary or regular license or certificate within thirty (30) days to the spouse of an active duty member of the Armed Forces of the United States if the spouse of the active duty member meets the statutory requirements of the administrative body and applies to the administrative body in a format promulgated in administrative regulation by the administrative body.

(2) An application for temporary or regular licensure of the spouse of an active duty member of the Armed Forces of the United States shall include but not be limited to the following:

(a) Proof that the applicant is married to an active duty member of the Armed Forces of the United States;

(b) Proof that the applicant holds a valid license or certificate for the profession issued by another state, the District of Columbia, or any possession or territory of the United States;

(c) Proof that the applicant's spouse is assigned to a duty station in this state and that the applicant is also assigned to a duty station in this state pursuant to the spouse's official active duty military orders; and

(d) An application fee to be established by the administrative body in an amount that is no more than is necessary to offset the cost of issuing the temporary or regular license.

(3) A temporary license issued pursuant this section shall expire six (6) months after the date of issuance and is not renewable.

 

Last Updated 2/15/2013
Privacy | Security | Disclaimer | Accessibility Statement